Home>About Jilin>Sister Cities

Saskatchewan, Canada

Updated: July 26, 2021
  L M S

Saskatchewan, Canada.jpg

Jilin province and Saskatchewan province established a friendly relationship on June 5, 1984.

Saskatchewan is a province of forests and grasslands in Western Canada, the middle of the three "Prairie Provinces" (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta). It is one of two Canadian provinces without a saltwater coast, and it is the only province to have no boundaries defined by geographical features.

Its area of 651,900 square kilometers accounts for 6.5 percent of the total Canadian area. It includes about 352,000 square kilometers of forest and about 81,600 square kilometers of fresh water.

Saskatchewan is Canada's fifth largest province in area and sixth in population. The flat landscape means that the province's inhabitants are ever conscious of the sky, and the changing patterns of light and shadow on the clouds, which commonly offer magnificent sunrises and sunsets, are as much a part of the scenery as any contour of the earth.

It is known as Canada's "grain cradle" and is famous for its pastures and wheat fields. The copper, zinc, coal, gold, petroleum and natural gas mining industries are well developed.

Economically, the province has always been heavily dependent on the exportation of its agricultural and mineral products and is thus particularly sensitive to fluctuations in world markets beyond its own or even Canada's control.